Side Chapter 3 – The Medallion

I knew I had to find it before Westfall found out. The Newcrest Vampire Hunters’ Guild Chapter has gone rogue recently, and I had to get to the bottom of it. As the High Pastor of Fartherburg and head of the Vampire Hunters’ Guild in the state, I cannot let this man who was excommunicated recently do more harm.

Getting past security into former Pastor Westfall’s mansion in the affluent part of Newcrest was easy, but I had to speak with this man myself. Sending him the letter of excommunication was not enough, so I had to make it more formal. Two of my best hunters followed me from behind as we went down the opulent hallway decorated with mirrors, statues of llamas, and lavender plants in gilded flower boxes.

A man dressed like a plumber leads us to the next part of the large mansion. I heard that this branch created a plumbing business to help fund their activities, but I didn’t know that they used it for an unauthorized vampire hunting raid. The invasion of a vampire hideout in Northern Newcrest caused a lot of unwanted deaths and attention in the local papers. Very unbecoming conduct for vampire hunters.

We finally reach Westfall’s office. As we enter the lavish study, we were greeted by the strong scent of lavender perfume, and in the middle of the room is a heavy wooden desk with Westfall sitting in his office chair upholstered with what looks like expensive fabric.

“High Pastor Ramirez. Haven’t seen you in a while.” Westfall was still dressed in his church service attire, which sent me frowning.

“Former Pastor Westfall. You have a few minutes to redeem yourself.” I say coldly.

“No need to explain, High Pastor.” He gets up from his seat and approaches me with a grin. “Llama willing, I’m just doing what us vampire hunters gotta do.”

“And you’re giving us a bad name. How dare you invoke the Llama’s name in vain! You’ve sent young men and women to their deaths.”

“I was just testing the medallion out.”

“What?”

“Let me show you.”

The medallion around Westfall’s neck gave off a dark, eerie glow as I hear screaming behind me. One of my hunters was already lying in a pool of her own blood, while the other was struggling to get out of a plumber’s grip. Before I could even react, a large plumber comes up from behind and locks both of my arms with inhuman strength. I didn’t even have enough time to reach for my sword.

I turn to Westfall who had the glowing medallion in his fist. “Monster! You have corrupted the medallion of its original purpose!”

The former pastor just laughs at me as I see a red glow in his right eye. Westfall had already beaten me to unlocking the medallion’s power, and I didn’t even realize it. Another plumber comes up to where I was trapped with a heavy silver pipe wrench.

Everything blacked out after that.

This entry was posted in Side Story. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Side Chapter 3 – The Medallion

  1. raerei says:

    Oh, so if Ramirez had unlocked the medallion first, it would probably be him acting all uppity and turning good plumbers into … zombie-like creatures of inhuman strength.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Virtualee says:

    The fact that this post is lacking screenshots did not detour me from visualizing Westfall and Ramirez go at it over the medallion! Great job.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rendora says:

    I wonder if Westfall would turn down the opportunity to become a vampire, if given the chance?

    Like

Leave a comment